Bookmark and Share

 

Parish Nursing

Our Conference Vision for Parish Nursing: “Advocating for Parish Nursing and Health Ministries”

Parish Nursing Mission Statement: “Promoting Health and Wholeness of BODY, MIND & SPIRIT through Parish
Nursing & Health Ministries”

Health ministry is holistic: “The church brings a holistic perspective to a community’s understanding of health because it has the ability to address and integrate all elements of healing – body, mind, and spirit. As Methodists, we believe the human body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, a sacred place consecrated by God’s presence. People who believe that the body is a gift and the dwelling place of God will treat it with great care. This positive aspect of spirituality will lead to healthy behavior and thinking as health ministers promote prevention and overall wellness to congregations and communities alike.”

Our Role as a Parish Nurse

  • Integrator of faith and health
  • Health educator
  • Personal health counselor
  • Referral agent Trainer of volunteers
  • Developer of support groups
  • Health educator

Holistic Health Spiritual Scripture References:

  • 1 Corinthians 6:19
  • Luke 4:18-19
  • Romans 8:22-23
  • Matthews 25:31-46
  • James5:13-18
  • Luke 10:25-37

Information from: United Methodist Committee on Relief (UMCOR) “Introduction to Health Ministry for United Methodist Congregations”

“It is important for United Methodist to be aware of the opportunities they have to develop this type of ministry. We often forget that part of being disciples is caring for our bodies as a temple of God.”

Patricia Magyar
UMCOR Health Executive

Conference Parish Nursing/Health Ministries Team

McIntyre, Sherry-Chairperson 317-894-0902, cell 317-370-8522 or samandmac64@gmail.com

Brownlee, Lang, lbrownlee@uindy.edu

Eley, John, jeley@fumeth.com

Howard, Cheryl, cheryl.howard@ssfhs.org

Larson, Cheryl, clarson0584@att.net

Lewis, Mary, robmarylewis@aol.com

Linvill, Johanna, linvill.johanna@frontier.com

Owens, David Mark, dandsowens@netzero.com

Tyring, Michele, mtyring@sbcglobal.net

Parish Nurses manned the first aid booths at the 5K Walk for Malaria. (Pictured left to right: Donita Keidl, Donna O'Donnell, Felicia Stewart, Sherry McIntyre, Chris Gilmore and Margie Townsend)